Using the fretboard

mendel

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I've been playing for a few months now, but most songs and chords I've learned are all at the end of the fretboard, I think it is the top!?!? Near the headstock. Anyway, I want to learn more, but I don't know where to find songs requiring me to play closer to the soundhole. Anyway, the other issue I have is chord diagrams. A C chord is easy to figure out, but for a chord that is closer to the soundhole, how do you know what fret to place your fingers on?

I'd love advice for some fun songs to begin to work the rest of the fretboard on.
Any advice?? As always, thank you for any expertise.

FYI- I usually play songs using C, G, G7, F, E, B, D, and all the different versions like 7ths, diminished, sustained, minor, et cetera. I'm not perfectly fluid in my hord transitions, but I'm getting better.

Mendel

Hey Mendel. What it sounds like you're looking for is a way to learn second and third position chords. I've actually found books to be more useful than the web for this, but here are a couple online resources:

Second position chords
Third position chords

I'd also recommend the books Ukulele Fretboard Roadmaps, and Treasury of Ukulele Chords.

As for finding chord charts using second and third position chords - I haven't seen too many out there online, but some of the Beloff uke books have some interesting arrangements and even a couple of chord solos.

Are you also interested in learning/reading tab and playing the melody? A UU member has posted some pretty easy tab here.

Hope that helps!

Go to amazon.com and order yourself a copy of "Ukulele Fretboard Roadmaps" by Fred Sokolow and Jim Beloff. I found it to be very helpful. It shows little tricks and recurring patterns to play chords in different spots on the neck.