Mini piano dillema!

grubblybubbly

Reaction score
Hi,

I am stuck! I am buying a vintage mini piano off craigslist, and I have the option of getting a yamaha pss 30, or a couple different casio SA models. I can't seem to find any articles comparing the two, and I was wondering if anyone had experience with them. DO YOU?

Yamaha_PSS-30.jpeg
casiosa21b.jpg

(don't mind that last weird comment;) )

Thanks!

I was a classroom music teacher for over 30 years. Many years ago I had several of that model of Yamaha and at least one Casio (or one very much like it) that I used as classroom instruments.

I am afraid that they were diabolical then and they will sound even worse now. It would be wrong to think of them in any way as a "piano" - they are not. I don't believe that they will have a good retro sound either because modern Yamaha and Casio keyboards do things infinitely better for a lot less money (in real terms). Seriously, if either of these were offered to me free, I wouldn't accept them. I am going to buying my grand-daughter a keyboard for her 3rd birthday, but I wouldn't consider giving her one of these.

Sorry if this upsets you, or whoever is trying to sell them to you. I am just trying to be honest. I think they are rubbish.

Last edited:
I have that Casio (or something very similar) from years back.. and I can only agree with Ken. I would get a modern instrument instead. They're incredibly cheap, e.g. the Casio CTK-3000 which is a hundred times better for five times the original price of that old toy Casio, and that doesn't even include inflation. Inflation taken into account they're probably about the same price, or just slightly more.

Yes, if you're looking for something to use as a real instrument--maybe to learn or improve your piano chops--then I'd skip both of these.