My Group Only Has One Member....

mendel

Reaction score
I'm sad. I've tried to find other Uke players in my area in order to put some type of get together thingy on the calendar. Alas, my efforts have been for naught.

The UU was my last hope. I put together a group for South Florida Ukers called "soflUken" with the hope that there might be someone on the board here that is local. I guess not.

Oh well.....I Guess my family has to move to a more Uke friendly area. I don;t want to live in a place where I am surrounded by those 6 string playing freaks anyway....lol....

In all seriousness, those of you that have built communities around you, how did you do it? I am a high school teacher, and I have a ton of students that would be interested, but they don't have the money to buy instruments. What opportunities are there out there? Perhaps there is an organization that collects old entry level Ukes and lends them out or something... Any ideas?

Mendel

Last edited:
My group also has only one member.. the current plan is to fix up an ukulele that has just been hanging on the wall of a friend of mine for years. She indicated that she wishes to start using it. So new Aquilas arrived in the mail yesterday, will bring the strings & nut files to the site in question Real Soon Now.

Hmmm....

I wish I knew anyone that even owned a Uke besides me in this area. The music stores stink.... Im hopeful that I can find some inexpensive Makalas to keep in the classroom locked in a closet until Uke Club or something.

>>>I wish I knew anyone that even owned a Uke besides me in this area.<<<<

Same thing here in Long Island, NY. So many people are so image-conscious around here that they wouldn't dare be seen playing a uke -- or even WITH someone playing a uke. For me, UU is my only opportunity to share this experience.

I'm sad. I've tried to find other Uke players in my area in order to put some type of get together thingy on the calendar. Alas, my efforts have been for naught.