Lanikai LU-11 variability

thingsabove

Reaction score
Long Post follows:

I started playing a Kamaka HF-3 I bought from a friend Dec 27. I had not played any Ukes prior to buying this from my friend so it was my first Uke experience. It was rather an impulse buy as I'd called him up to ask his advice on harmonicas. One thing led to another and I ended up with this fine tenor figured-Koa uke.

Anyway, since I'm a long time stringed instrument player I was able to take it up very quickly and the chords are wonderfully simple for the most part so I was playing songs right away. Almost immediately my two boys, who have never shown much interest in playing instruments, seemed very taken with my Uke. I think it is the small size. It doesn't intimidate them like my guitars and basses do. They had shown some interest in playing one of my mandolins in the past but the string tension on mandolin was too high for them to start with and they gave up after 30 minutes.

But with the Ukulele they kept picking it up and strumming it and playing some simple chords I showed them. Almost immediately they began asking for their own Ukes.

They are 7 and 9 years old and I realized that the extra string tension of the Tenor or less so Concert scale would probably make it more difficult for them to learn so I wanted to get them Sopranos. Given that they are boys and are a bit rough on everything they own I didn't want to spend much money on something likely to be sat upon or used as a club within the month so I went to the store looking for two cheap Ukuleles.