Concert and Standard Soprano Banjo-Ukes

Uke Whisperer

Reaction score
Hello,
Listening to all the demos and sound bites I can find on the net, it seems to me that when comparing the Soprano Banjo-Uke to the Concert version, the Concert seems a little more “mellow” than the Soprano. Am I hearing things incorrectly or is that true? For some reason the Concert sounds more like a Banjo-Uke and the Soprano more like a Uke Banjo. To me it’s kind of like the Concert is more of a Uke with the Banjo sound added and the Soprano is more like a Banjo with the uke added. True? Perhaps they are the same sound, but listening to them on the net, that is the way it sounds to me. Is the length of scale the only difference?
Thanks,
Tom

I'm new to banjoleles but I do have a soprano. I must say that it is very brash and 'in your face' sound-wise. I have not heard a concert scale banjo uke but would think that the longer scale may mellow it out a bit, though I don't know by how much.

I've got a 1930's soprano sized banjolele and a new Chinese made concert banjolele. they sound completely differnt. The old George Haughton and son sounds very lively and being light is a joy to play. easily hearable when played in a group of other instruments. The new one is much more subdued and is much heavier. Does not inspire me like the old one.

I couldn't agree with you more. It's just a different style of build nowadays.

I think you can work with the current instruments to get them sounding well, but I still like the sound of the older instruments, and even cheap ones - $100-200 - can sound very good.

On the negative side, you have to get an instrument in good to excellent condition because refurbishing a cheapie using a luthier *isn't cheap* - costs more than the instrument will be worth when you're done.