Stewmac Kits?

Jaicen

Reaction score
I was wondering if anybody has any experience of building either of the stewmac ukulele kits?
They look like excellent value given that I don't have a bender for the sides, or a bandsaw. Admittedly, they have done most of the work for you, but it looks like an excellent way to get started.
I have built a couple of electric guitars, so I have some tools and experience, but i've never built an acoustic like this.
Does anybody have any suggestions as to why I shouldn't start off with something like the Tenor kit?

A Stew-Mac kit is a great way to get started. I built both the soprano and tenor before moving on to scratch builds. Here is a blog of my tenor kit build. Warning: building is addictive, and you will need to feed the addiction with money spent on tools and wood.

The tenor kit is a great starting point! Search this forum for "stewmac kit" and I think you'll find a lot of great information, including some places where you shouldn't follow their instructions exactly.

Thanks for the replies guys, there's some really useful information there.
My plan is actually to work towards being able to build a solid Koa concert sized uke, so really anything I build first is only a learning experience.
With that in mind, I can't help thinking that the kit thing might not be all that useful given my ultimate goal is going to require a complete scratch build.

I would suggest doing a " Grizzly" kit first. They cost about 22 bucks . I did one and really enjoyed it. I put a bone nut and saddle and it sounds pretty good. I also did a mop star inlay on the headstock. Make your mistakes on the grizzly and then try a Stew Mac kit.

Last edited:
I just built a Grizzly kit, and had loads of fun. The stewmac ones look way nicer.

I have only done a Grizzly kit. My method was to spend some minutes here and there and put it together over a few months. In reality, an experienced builder with all the tools on hand could easily assemble it in a day.