Kanile'a ukulele

gjsong

Reaction score
I've been vacationing in Oahu and I wandered into a local music store and they had a Kanile'a K1 T-sm on sale for $632. Is that a good price? I'm new to the ukulele world and I have an old Oscar Schmidt. That seems pretty steep for a ukulele. The sales guy said it sounded very nice and it did indeed sound better than the Kala ukes that he had. Should I get it? Also saw a Valley Made concert ukulele for $665. It sounded nice too. Just looking for some advice on an upgrade.

greg

Kanile'a K1 T-sm on sale for $632
Don't hesitate, buy it and send it here. No really, that seems like a good price. Check the internets, it comes out much more expensive in many places. It is not a used uke I presume?
I remember that fellow member UkuCous had a good deal on his Kanile'a tenor as well...

Last edited:
I have the K1 concert. The price is good. U will NOT be disappointed with it. It is an incredible sounding instrument. Makes u close your eyes while playing. DO IT!

I got a Kanile'a Tenor (not soundmonster), go ahead and buy it now !! you'll not be disppointed, theses are high quality instruments with beautiful sound !

I remember that fellow member UkuCous had a good deal on his Kanile'a tenor as well...
Yup yup but mine was on ebay !

That seems pretty steep for a ukulele.
greg

pee-shaw, mine was $850, and mgm sells a few for well over $3,000. and customs are over a grand too

It is a good deal. Especially if you can check it out in person and it feels and sounds right to you. Kanile'a makes quality ukes.

But if you think six and some change is a lot for a ukulele, just wait until your UAS starts kicking in and you begin considering a custom build. Hoo boy! That'll start at a grand...

That's a damn good price for a SM. Most of the tenor ukes in Hawaii start at about $700. Get it and if you don't like the feel of it, you can always re-sell and I guarantee somebody will snag it.