PDA

View Full Version : I wish more people viewed the ukulele as a music instrument

Hudman
01-16-2011, 09:29 AM
A little background on myself before explaining:

I started playing guitar in 1985. I was primarily an electric guitar player until 6 years ago when I switched over to acoustic guitar. I still like electric guitar but find that I prefer acoustic. I am fairly new to the ukulele - I briefly owned a Kala Curly Mango tenor 3 years ago. I ended up selling it a few months later to raise funds to cover some emergency expenses. I was sad to sell it because playing it was coming very natural to me due to my guitar background.

I found myself surfing ukulele videos on Youtube over the past several months. I got the uke bug bad and decided to re-enter the ukulele world.

I received my new Lanikai NK-T a few days. I am very impressed with it. The fit and finish is excellent. The koa top is beautiful. the flamed maple bindings and abalone compliment the koa very well. The ebony fretboard, tuner buttons and head plate are nice touches as well. The factory set up is great. The action is low with no fret buzz or dead notes. I was expecting to break out the nut files and sand paper but was pleased to discover that it need no modifications. It sounds really nice and seems to be very responsive (excellent dynamics and tonal color). It can sound warm with a soft touch and bright and jangly with a heavy touch. Chords sound rich and single notes ring clear. I'm very happy with it.

Ok, sorry about that - now back to my title: