How often do you change strings

Baseballhack

Reaction score
How often do you all change your strings. On my guitar it was easy to know when to change strings, but at the same time when you changed your strings it was surprising how much tone you gained with new strings. So how often do you all change your strings. Love this forum and thanks everyone you guys and gals are great.

Last edited:
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Just trying to gage when Uke strings tend to lose their playability and tone.

I've been playing for a few years now but have not changed any strings because they have lost their playability or tone.
I've changed them to try different strings but so far I havent changed any because they have worn out.

Nylon strings dont break down anywhere near as quickly as with steel guitar strings. I play guitar a lot, and find myself changing every 2-3 weeks. The thing with steel strings is that it is obvious in the look of them when they need changing.

Nylon strings dont change appearance, and to my ears, the drop off in sound is much more subtle.

I have strings on my ukes for months at a time. if they sound dull, or I have a tuning issue, i swap them out

Best tip I ever read on this subject was from James Hill. Slide your pinky under a string. If you can feel an indentation on the underside of the string caused by the fret wire, it's time for a change.

Best tip I ever read on this subject was from James Hill. Slide your pinky under a string. If you can feel an indentation on the underside of the string caused by the fret wire, it's time for a change.

Thanks I like that. It makes sense.

I don't. I just buy a new ukulele! Ha!