Where to start... (to learn)

vaughan

Reaction score
Hey all, greetings from Melbourne (Aus). Im relatively new to the Uke, but for the second time around. I used to play years ago when i was a child, self taught from an old uke book, EZ Method for Ukulele if I recall correctly.

....Fast forward about 18 years:

I dont remember much of it now, except a few bars of the song 'Little Brown Jug', and recently purchased myself a uke from ebay. One of original Uke is in a bad way now and the other at my parents somewhere sans strings.

My question to all of you, is where is a good starting point for learning the Uke over again. Ive checked out some of Aldrines lessons and am not getting anywhere real quick. I think they are a little bit advanced for somebody just starting out. Are there any lessons (on this site or others) that are much simpler that teach the fundamentals but also have you playing tunes rather quickly?

Is anybody in the same boat as me? Please feel free to share your experiences, how you got to where you are etc.

Thank you all in advance. Im looking forward to reading your replies.

I felt the same way... here's some links that got me caught up (somewhat):

http://ukulelehunt.com/2010/02/24/ukulele-lessons/

http://www.ezfolk.com/uke/Tutorials/Fingerpicking/fingerpicking.html

http://www.ezfolk.com/uke/tabs1/index.html

Now I'm pretty confident playing my own style of stuff. I try to focus less on replicating somebody else's cover songs but focus on writing my own music. Any way I slice it, if I'm playing something, I'm doing better than if I was playing nothing... so pick up your uke and "jus' press"

Sorry, but time for a shameless plug!

This site is superb as a resource ( I spend most of my uke time here) as is Ukulele Hunt.

I also set up my own blog which is aimed directly at beginners, or those thinking of dipping a toe in the ukulele water. You can find my blog here http://gotaukulele.blogspot.com/