suggestions?

rem50

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I am starting to consider getting a tenor uke, strictly acoustic. I was wondering if you all could give any suggestions. I have a concert I love so this would be just for fun and to try a tenor size out. I would say my price range is no more than $300 ( not set in stone). Is there any such animal that is decent at that price that you would recommend I look at? Thanks, rem

In that price range you are probably looking at a Mainland uke.

What about an Ohana TK35, all solid, beautifully made, and within your price range.

I will look into those, thanks! @ shaokee.... I take photos better than I play uke too! Ha! (That's what I do for a living)

@ shaokee.... I take photos better than I play uke too! Ha! (That's what I do for a living)

really? high five! :D wish i could say i do it for a living too, that would really be a dream come true. i'm only doing it part time now. better than nothing i guess haha.

+3 on Mainland - you can get the Mango for just over $300 and the richness of the tone on mine is pretty close to my KoAloha concert - though the Mainland definitely gives up a bit of volume to the KoAloha (but the KoAloha concert was over $700 - something about it darn well better be better than the Mainland LOL).

John

What about an Ohana TK35, all solid, beautifully made, and within your price range.

Have played the Ohana. If I ever bought a first tenor, it would be this.

+3 on Mainland - you can get the Mango for just over $300 and the richness of the tone on mine is pretty close to my KoAloha concert - though the Mainland definitely gives up a bit of volume to the KoAloha (but the KoAloha concert was over $700 - something about it darn well better be better than the Mainland LOL).

John
I have a koAloha concert sceptre and love it. Looked at the mainlands and they look very reasonable. Glad to hear they sound great too!

Aloha rem50,