Another Beginner asking for help! Please do!

MakSmooth

Reaction score
Hey all! I was wondering if you all could help me on getting my first uke. My price range is up to $150. Preferably Concert, laminated cuz I hear it's cheaper and I'm not too worried about the humidity here cuz I live in San Diego =P I was wondering what you guys had in mind.

I'm not sure if both the ukulele and the strings matter or maybe more on just the strings (I'm a big noob) but I was thinking of either one of the two.

I already have the Kala KA-C w/ aquilas
http://cgi.ebay.com/KALA-KA-C-CONCE...ltDomain_0&hash=item56421a7f3e#ht_2045wt_1139

Or ...

The Makala MK-C w/ aquilas
http://cgi.ebay.com/MAKALA-CONCERT-...ltDomain_0&hash=item3a627f2ef1#ht_2729wt_1139

My only concern is.. "you get what you pay for" anyone care to tell me what the difference is between the two?
So if you guys have any other suggestions don't hesitate to let me know! I would like to hear from this community! thanks in advanced!

Last edited:
I also say get the kala CEM
you get a case and tuner with it and aquila strings plus a pro set up! What's not to like?

oh, and he has a video for you to watch so you can hear how it sounds. plug in your headphones and give it a listen.

Last edited:
If it were me, I would go for something with a solid spruce top. The Kala SC and Lanikai S-C come to mind. They are both in your price range. I've been the all laminate route, and for an inexpensive ukulele that still sounds great, nothing beats a solid topped uke. I started with an all laminate Kala tenor and now have a solid spruce topped one that cost about the same. The difference in the sound and projection of the two is like night and day to my ears.

Last edited:
I should say that I also went the solid top route when I bought my tenor. But the laminate flamed mahogany was a close second.