PDA

View Full Version : So I recently bought an eleuke.



UkuleleLee
01-20-2011, 03:28 PM
I like it. But I don't own an amp..is there way I can use my computer as one for now?

I can run it through the input socket and play loudly, but I don't know of any way to use distortion or have effects while playing. Does anyone know of a free program I can use?

Doug W
01-20-2011, 05:21 PM
Kristal Audio Engine is a free (for personal use) multitrack recording program. The program is no longer being developed but has an active forum group and is still a great program. Kristal has a LIVE IN feature that allows you to add effects real time although the LIVE IN does not work for recording. You can add VST plug ins for more effects.

Click the DOWNLOAD (http://www.kreatives.org/kristal/index.php?section=details) link on the page.

Forum here (http://www.kristalusers.net/forumdisplay.php?fid=2)

SweetWaterBlue
01-20-2011, 05:23 PM
Audacity has a lot of effects and you can download more, but I don't think you can use them live, rather than just after you record. Its also free.

Doug W
01-20-2011, 05:25 PM
Audacity has a lot of effects and you can download more, but I am not sure if you can use them live, rather than just after you record. Its also free.
Neither of these programs take much space. Download both of them.

UkuleleLee
01-21-2011, 07:11 AM
Thank you all! I had already downloaded Audacity through a recommendation from a friend, but as it's been said there's no live feed distortion...
So I downloaded it and I can record with it but I can't figure out how to use distortion =/ Anyone know how? I've looked it up but have not been successful.

Doug W
01-24-2011, 02:26 PM
What did you try to do to use distortion? By the way, what sound card do you have?

UkuleleLee
01-25-2011, 04:39 PM
Well first I tried to see if it would detect my ukulele, and it did. But then, when I would bring up the "mixer" option, it would not do any distortion. With the mixer up, it would not even register anything as playing.
My sound board is..
I have "Realtek AC97 Audio."