Glen Rose's new jazz lessons

Kimosabe

Reaction score
My own playing and song writing has greatly advanced due to Glen Rose's teaching. I am a teacher myself and appreciatie good teaching, which means that you will learn. I don't like to get nowhere. You can see my version of Let's Get Lost on kjorgensen100 on youtube. I made that arrangement by using a fakebook and putting in time to get the right chord shapes to produce the right tone movement in the chord changes. I also worked to get the rhythm right so that things naturally move. A song carries you along. I developed the ability to play as I do by working steadily with Glen's material. It's fun. I became familiar with the chords for that song by working with Glen's stuff. Jazz repeats patterns. Glen teaches you those patterns. The chord changes are easy on the hand. That's why they sound good. They're close on the neck. The ear likes subtle movements.

If you have bought Glen's earlier Jazz ukulele material, these new video lessons, in the Video Library section of his website, continue and advance that material. It is very pleasurable to play jazz uke and Glen makes it relatively easy. Stop and start the 10 min. video, get down what he is doing, the fingering is actually easy, and then play the movements over and over. Experiment around the neck, experiment with rhythm. Get in the jazz groove and make it natural. Glen even gives some real pointers on how effective a simple strum can be, a simple jazz strum. Each chord gets two beat in a two chord measure. Have fun. I'm working on the new video lessons myself. I'm learning. I'm putting in the time. I'm excited. It's coming together.