Should I continue learning the guitar?

Skadar

Reaction score
I've been kicking around with the guitar for 20 years, but only recently (Fall 2010) started to get serious about learning. I started working through Garage Band lessons and using a couple of incredible websites for online lessons.

And then I got a ukulele as a gift. Holy moly. I've had it for a month now and I haven't touched my guitars since. I know this is a common side effect of picking up a ukulele, but what are the chances I'll ever go back to guitar? Should I even try?

I'm 40 now and the chances of me ever rocking out with an amplified guitar in front of a willing audience is slim. I can, however, see myself playing the uke with family and friends and ukulele clubs (already joined one).

Do any of you continue with uke and guitar simultaneously?

I've actually taken up the guitar...Hawaiian slack key (kī hōʻalu)!

~Michael

I play both, but the uke is what got me excited about playing again

I played professionally until 5 years ago and just picked up uke recently.

I also play banjo and mandolin, used to play fiddle but would likely poke my eye out with the bow.

I think the uke is more fun than the mando, and a better solo accomp instrument.

My 2 pennies, keep that guitar arround the uke will only sharpen your skills,,,,, unless we are talking solid body electric and then trade it in for an acoustic so you can be useful to uke players :)

I haven't played my guitar in years... been too attached to my uke. Besides, I just feel more comfortable with the uke! ;)

No.

You should play the uke.

There, I've settled it!

Seriously, I played guitar for 40 years. I have a classic Martin acoustic from 1966 sitting in a case. If I sold it I could probably buy $3000 worth of ukes.

I don't feel guilty.

Play the uke.

You are asking on an ukulele thread if you should keep learning guitar? Silly. :-)