Maintaining the Uke

jcder

Reaction score
Hi all,

I have a Kala Koa Uke and was wondering how to maintain it (oil etc.) Knowing nothing about Ukes at all I informed at the local Uke club and the people I spoke to swore about using olive oil to maintain the wood on a weekly basis ... claiming that this was the cheapest and most effective manner for keeping a Uke "presentable" and flexible. Back in the days of the Portugese introduction of the Uke basis, the Portugese treated it either with bee#s wax or olive oil ... any takes on this?

I'm still new at this, but I've never heard of putting olive oil or beeswax on ukuleles. I'm sure it would make the wood appear to be shiny, but "flexible"?
I think your uke just needs proper humidity in its case and the occasional wipedown of fingerprints with a soft damp cloth for maintenance. That's how I tend to my koa uke, anyway.:p

Are you talking about oiling the body? I know people use various products on fretboards, including myself. I use a fretboard conditioner the Loprinzi puts out, others use lemon oils and other products on fretboards. I keep a humidifier in my case to heek the wood happy.

I use a little furnature polish and soft cloth, but just the cloth is enough really. Olive oil gets sticky and bees wax is best on plain wood. Remember modern instruments are coated either gloss or matt. If you really need to clean grease and stuff off older instruments or wipe the strings or finger boards use a little soft soap and a damp sponge then wipe dry. Never use anything abrasive like wadding especially on the strings.

Apparantly it's all about conditioning the wood, if you have a solid matt wood uke that is, over time and upon using olive oil the uke gets more, well more something which is good for the sound (I didn't quite get what the guy meant either).