Thinking about switching to Baritone Uke--have to sell my Stagg electric--Crazy?

oldrookie

Reaction score
I bought my first uke last summer, a Stagg solid body electric (Les Paul style.) Concert scale. Just in time to go spend a few hours at UWC.

I've been playing bass for a few years, so this was a HUGE change and I found it very enjoyable. I like the concert, but there are times when I wish for an acoustic sound and for a larger fretboard. The difference between the bass and the concert is really dramatic and I feel really cramped on the concert scale. I don't think I'm playing the uke much anymore because of those two issues.

Finally started taking bass lessons (after working on my own for a couple of years) and the store where I take them has a used Greg Bennett Samick UK 70 B. I've really fallen for the sound and the larger fret board.

Sorta makes sense, I guess, as the baritone is on the low end of things and that's where my main instrument is as well.

So, not wishing to do anything rash, I found a child's guitar at Goodwill for $15.00 and dropped two strings and set it up as a baritone. I am loving the sound and the feel. It's a cheap Chinese-made plywood guitar and one string rattles when I strum too hard, but it seems to be confirming that I am a baritone player at heart.

I'd have to let the Stagg go to get the baritone and I always struggle with seller's remorse before I pull the trigger. Not so much once I've done the deal.

So, sigh... no real question I suppose...just looking to more experienced players for thoughts and advice.

I can offer no help whatsoever, but a good friend of mine plays baritone and he has a great blog for baritone ukulele.....there may be something that can help you there. His blogs include lots of great resources.
http://humblebaritonics.blogspot.com/

Glad to pass it along. Fee free to email him, "Humble Uker" a.k.a. Jeff is a really cool, very giving guy.

Hi,