a tag-along uke suggestions

Tulip

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I just started to learn the ukulele and am practicing on a concert ukulele. I sometimes have to tag along with my sister for hours long, so I'm thinking of buying an inexpensive ukulele I can bring along and practice while I wait for her. So, my question is should I get another concert rather a soprano? And what should I get that's durable for the heat of Houston summer? In case I need to leave the uke in the car, that is. I looked at MusicGuyMic in ebay and he has some afforable sopranos. But would practicing on a soprano then I get on a concert uke would mess me up? And if I leave the uke in the car with 90's or 100 degree heat, would it crack or damage my uke?

I would greatly appreciate some knowledgeable advices. I'm sorry, but I am quite clueless for I am extremely new at music and ukuleles. I figured picking up a ukulele is better than a gameboy, right? :p Thank you in advance for your patience and advices. :)

Ah, yes. When I said affordable, I mean less than $100. Preferably around $50 or so less. Or with that price, it's just not worth it? Any 2cents would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
Sopranos make the best car ukes, they take up less room. (going from a soprano to a concert is not a problem. I play all four sizes...your brain adjusts.)
I have two car ukes, My kids and I all play so one wasn't enough. One is a $30 one I got at Costco and the other one is a wall hanger I found at a yard sale for a dollar. Get a beater for the car and a pitch pipe you keep in the car for tuning. Put decent strings on it and it should sound okay.
I don't worry about my car ukes. If they fry or get sat on, oh well. But the neat thing is I always have something to practice on at stoplights and my kids serenade me everywhere we go. (and yes, they are better than a gameboy!)