What, for you pushes your abilities on uke?

bobyman122

Reaction score
Hey i have been playing uke for about three years now, some of you know me and some dont. But i feel like i have come to a standstill in my learning, and i am looking for new things to push my abilities and ways to become better.. So, what for you as a fellow uker and musician pushes you playing wise?

bobyman121, is my youtube check it out!

I'm still new enough to the uke that I haven't hit that "plateau" yet but I've found that with other instruments I usually see a "growth spurt" after experimenting with a different instrument for a while. I played guitar for years and had pretty much "plateaued" until I switched to bass a couple of years ago. Bass players get a bad rap along with drummers but I discovered that I really had to swallow all the jokes I'd made about bass players over the years. I learned "tightness" from playing bass, and also learned that "everything's in a box, you just have to find the sides of the box." The bottom line is that the guitars can wander all over the place without much impact, but if the drums and bass aren't tight and in the pocket, the band sucks! As a result, my guitar playing improved even though I play guitar pretty infrequently now.

John

Just got the John King classical book today. It's definitely going to be a work-out!

Aloha Bobyman122,
Buy those turorial DVD's and learn different techniques to keep it fresh...then try to apply them to your current style....

I got the chance to play in a large jam setting, where everyone but me was pretty familiar with the tunes being played (and they all played fiddle...not sure if my uke belonged there, but who cares). I have to admit, my bones came out a lot and the Uke got shelved...but there were some I tried to keep on and I learned quite a bit.