Low G or High G

Sweeper

Reaction score
I just bought a Lanikai and I'm learning to play. This is my first time learning any instrument. Mine is strung with a high G string. I see that a ukulele may also be strung with a low G. I understand that the low G is an octave lower than the high G, but what would be the reason for using the low G. Does this change the way the ukulele is played? Or is it just a personal preference for the lower sound?

Hi, Sweeper, welcome to UU!

High G gives you more of the traditional "ukey" sound while strumming. Low G gives you more range, which is helpful with fingerpicking certain tunes.

I look at it as a good excuse to have one in each tuning. :)

I understand that the low G is an octave lower than the high G, but what would be the reason for using the low G. Does this change the way the ukulele is played? Or is it just a personal preference for the lower sound?

For some it's a matter of personal preference, for others (who do more fingerpicking than strumming) it's useful because it allows for lower notes than middle C.

But yeah - as itsme said, it's a great reason to *need* more than one uke!

I think it also helps to take into account the type of music you prefer to play. Some songs definitely sound better with a high g, and some songs sound better with a low g. Plus as itsme and janeray pointed out, if you are a strummer it is really up to your ear's personal preference, but if you decide to fingerpick melodies, the low g is a great addition. For me, when I did mainly strumming, it didn't matter that much, but once I started to fingerpick more, I transitioned over to low g as my "go to uke."