hammer-on

bonstargazer

Reaction score
Hello lovely people,

I'm absolute novice to ukulele. While watching Uku Minutes tutorial about hammer-on, I found myself having trouble with it. Basically the second note almost does not make any sound when I press on it. I think I have already followed the instructions. Does it have anything to do with the ukulele itself? And weird thing is, it sounds ok on pull-offs. Much more noticeable than hammer-on.
Is that normal? Any advices would be greatly appreciated!!:)

I think you need to have some volume because it is going to deaden the string some. And put your finger down really quickly so you mute it less. But someone else will probably have better advice because I am new. :)

Here's a video from Aldrine, it's important that you provide enough force to get a loud and clear note from the hammer-on whereas pull-offs are more about pulling down and away from the string as you release the fretted note. If you continue to have any problems then feel free to contact me and I'll record a close-up video demonstrating any techniques you might have questions about. Hope that helps! Take care!

Sorry! Wow, I just realized you mentioned you were having problems with THAT video, I feel like an idiot :( haha. I'll record a short tutorial showing you what I mean

Thanks Ataraxia! That was a big help! I am also struggling with Hammer ons and Pull offs. I am currently learning to play In Dreams (LOTR soundtrack) and right off the bat you have a hammer on followed immediately by a pull off. Not that obvious for a beginner to pull off, lol!

Thanks Ataraxia! That was a big help! I am also struggling with Hammer ons and Pull offs. I am currently learning to play In Dreams (LOTR soundtrack) and right off the bat you have a hammer on followed immediately by a pull off. Not that obvious for a beginner to pull off, lol!