Where to begin

Reaction score
Just bought my first ukulele (a makala kala) and i don't even know where to begin. Originally i am a drummer and still am but have always been interested in the instrument. Where should i start and is it worth it to even buy a beginner book?

I've learned a lot watching You Tube videos.

I've been practicing the basic C G7 Am and F chords and getting the Down Down Up Up Down Strumming down. Today after two weeks, I finally got the Chucking down even though it's kind of rough still. I liked the beginning Ukulele videos made by Hawaii music supply.

Last edited:
Hey GKK,
I watch a lot of You Tube videos on ukulele music too. I find it very helpful. I owe a debt of gratitude to the folks at You Tube, because that's where I saw the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain, and was inspired to buy my first ukulele. Now, I'm hooked.

I've been practicing the basic C G7 Am and F chords and getting the Down Down Up Up Down Strumming down
.GKK started the same way I did. You and I have much in common, being a drummer you'll understand rhythm better than a total musical instrument newbie. Take the time to get comfortable having the uke in your hands. It's like when you sit behind a drum kit for the first time with sticks in hand and it's all new, but soon you get comfortable there. Same with the uke. Check out all the suggestions here and find the best way for you to learn and get from the uke what you want. Congratulations on a cool new instrument and welcome to UU.
DAP

Aloha Ross,
Welcome to the UU and our forums and the Ukulele...have fun and enjoy both....google Musicteacher2010 and Keonepax for awesome ukulele video tutorials and Dr Uke for songs, chords, and instructions..
Happy Strummings, MM Stan..

Aloha Ross,
Welcome to the UU and our forums and the Ukulele...have fun and enjoy both....google Musicteacher2010 and Keonepax for awesome ukulele video tutorials and Dr Uke for songs, chords, and instructions..
Happy Strummings, MM Stan..