Kamaka Ukulele Giveaway?

kamakajr

Reaction score
Aloha, my name is Fred Kamaka, Jr. and I am the Business Manager of Kamaka Hawaii. My grandfather Samuel Kamaka, Sr. formed our family business in 1916, the heyday of the Hawaiian ukulele, in the territory of Hawaii. My cousins and I are honored and privileged to be a part of the continuation of our grandfather's tradition of Hawaiian ukulele making.

This is my first time posting to the Board and I was directed here in order to clarify a recent misunderstanding involving a transaction between Kamaka Hawaii, Kalei Gamiao and Bill Cosby. This transaction was reported in the Honolulu Star Advertiser and discussed in a now closed thread on this Board. Interestingly, shortly after the Star Advertiser reported it, I personally sent a clarification email to them which was never published, and which would have avoided any misunderstanding created about the Kamaka ukulele Mr. Cosby "received."

Although we regularly donate ukuleles to charitable organizations in Hawaii, particularly those servicing children in our community, is is not our policy to provide ukuleles free of charge to professional entertainers/musicians. We do have close relationships with the musicians who play our instruments, and view them as part of our ohana, but you know, they never expect anything for free!

For the record, Mr. Cosby called the factory when he was here in town, ordered a 4-string tenor, and paid for it. At no time did he ever ask that it be given to him for free or that he get a discount. When it was completed, we asked our friend Kalei Gamiao (who was performing in Mr. Cosby's show that evening) to deliver it. This was simply to avoid us having to ship it to the mainland.

The same is true for other entertainers/musicians who have ordered and purchased ukuleles from us, including more recently Dwayne Johnson, Matthew Morrison, and Adam Sandler. They pay for our ukuleles just like evreyone else.