Strumming help

EddyAu

Reaction score
Hey guys, i just started playing the ukulele and im having trouble strumming. im trying to use my index finger to strum but i keep getting caught on the G chord. when i strum lightly over the top of the strings i feel like theres not enough sound. is it just something that comes with time or am i doing something wrong?
Thanks in advance

I let my nails grow and that helped. Could watch some youtubes of folks strumming too to get input on it.

yea, ive been watching the clip from Hawaii music supply. but i just dont get how he gets such a clear sound. because when i strum using my finger i get really loud G chord and A chords and the C and E chords are really soft.
Cheers

Could be a couple of things. With a beginner uke, often the action is set really high so open chords are hard to play without tripping over the strings. Likewise, you've got to squeeze to get the barre chords to sound, and they're often less loud.

The remedy for this is two-fold: lower the action of your strings by sanding the nut or bridge. As you're just starting out, you probably won't want to do this yourself. Have a knowledgeable friend take it on - if its a cheaper uke, having a luthier do it will cost more than the uke itself.

Secondly, practice. It doesn't feel natural, but keep at it. You'll get stronger at strumming and also at fretting the chords, which will correct some of the volume issue.

What uke are you playing? You may find its more satisfying to upgrade to a better instrument.

im playing a really cheap uke that i bought off ebay, i live in australia and we dont have many guitar shops around. im thinking of buying a better uke in a couple of weeks when i get better at playing off Music Guy Mike off ebay. Another question. which part of your index finger do you use to strum?
Thanks