Looking for a new uke

lmfsuu

Reaction score
Hey everyone! I've been playing my Kala KA-S soprano uke for about 9 months now and it's time for an upgrade. When I say upgrade, I mean upgrade. I'm looking to get a solid wood concert, preferably koa. I've done a lot of research online, but I don't have an opportunity to play any of the ukes in person :(
I've heard almost no good things about friction tuners, but I have never used them myself. I would prefer to avoid them, but most of the "k" ukuleles that I have found have friction tuners.
I obviously would prefer to spend 200-300, but I'll shell out 400-500 if that's what it takes to get a quality instrument with good intonation (a notorious problem for my kala) that will last for years.
I'm not so much concerned with looks; my focus is on how it plays and how it sounds. After all, you don't sit down and look at your ukulele...you play it!
Here is a list of the contenders I've found:
koa pila koko solid acacia concert with gigbag - $200
mainland solid mahogany concert - $220 (case an extra 40)
lanikai solid zebrawood concert with hard case - $269
oscar schmidt solid mahogany concert with hard case - $273
mainland solid red cedar top, solid rosewood body - $260
kelii solid koa concert with hard case - $429 (sold by MGM)
mele solid koa concert with hard case - $479
New kamaka, koaloha & kanilea's are really expensive. I'm not sure (but could probably be persuaded!) that they are worth the extra dough.
Every now and then a used kamaka, koaloha or kanilea pops up on ebay, but most of them have friction tuners and cost more than the other options listed so...
Please feel free to comment on any of the listed ukes or other models that I've not listed. Thanks!