Will Chunking ruin my ukulele?

aziandoll

Reaction score
Hi, I have been playing for a few years, and currently play a Kala Tenor Exotic Mahogany laminate, and recently purchased a Mainland Mango glossy Concert. With my Kala, I placed clear packaging tape in the area where my fingers land so I don't develop scratch marks. It's worked pretty well, but there are still indentations on my uke. I guess I can't avoid it...so... I like playing my Mainland, but am afraid of chunking on it. Is this expected normal wear and tear for a uke, to have scratches on that area? Shall I just ignore it? and chunk on my Mainland? :/

Is this expected normal wear and tear for a uke, to have scratches on that area? Shall I just ignore it? and chunk on my Mainland? :/

I wonder about this, too. I guess it is pretty much unavoidable, though. So I don't play any differently.

Hi, I have been playing for a few years, and currently play a Kala Tenor Exotic Mahogany laminate, and recently purchased a Mainland Mango glossy Concert. With my Kala, I placed clear packaging tape in the area where my fingers land so I don't develop scratch marks. It's worked pretty well, but there are still indentations on my uke. I guess I can't avoid it...so... I like playing my Mainland, but am afraid of chunking on it. Is this expected normal wear and tear for a uke, to have scratches on that area? Shall I just ignore it? and chunk on my Mainland? :/

Since you're in So. Cal. head down to Candela's Guitars in East L.A. and get a pick guard installed. Guaranteed for 10 years and custom cut and installed on your uke. $15 from when I last talked to Tomas.

http://www.candelas.com/pickguards.php