Kamaka Pineapple Ukulele info

smashingguitars

Reaction score
Greetings! I am a newbie to the forum, so allow me to introduce myself. My name is Dave, and I am the manager of Smashing Guitars, a full-service lutherie (we build mandos, violins, and emandos), instrument (stringed) and electronics repair/restoration shop in Asheville, NC. We are also Endangered Audio Research, builders of boutique effects. I spent all last nite reading through this forum, I think you all would dig the shop, I also watched the PBS Kamaka documentary, excellent.

I have a new client that has brought me a Kamaka Pineapple Uke to sell. All of my years of doing this, I have never looked at one (although I have sold many great ukes). After much homework and fun reading, I am having trouble putting a "timeline" to the labels and headstock decals of Kamaka instruments. My clients grandparents were in the Navy in Hawaii and acquired this uke circa 1950, which jives w/ the tag, they may have bought it used. She has the desire to see this go to a player, so brought it to me to sell. I explained the importance of holding on to this heirloom, or passing it to a friend, she wants to sell.

I would love to know more specifically than ca. 1950 what year this uke is from, and perhaps more info about Kamaka headstock decals and inner labels. The history section of the Kamaka website doesn't offer up much on this.

Here are some measurements- 13 5/8" scale length, 6 3/4" body width, 2 7/16" depth, 9 1/4" body length, 20 5/8" total length, fretboard flush to top, 1 3/8" nut. The condition is pretty good. Not cleaned and with the old strings, it plays great up the fingerboard, doesn't fret out and has a low action and a very warm, clear tone. There is not a crack to be found. Per the photo, the heel has been repaired, but not cosmetically. The back was removed to do this, and the sides aren't lined up perfectly. All of the joints, however, tap out, and are not open. This uke is solid, a great players uke.