My First Ukulele - KoAloha Pikake Soprano (pics)

hottoddy

Reaction score
She arrived yesterday in wonderful condition. Many thanks to Mike at MGM! I'm brand new to ukuleles but not guitar. She seems to play great (no buzzing) and holds tuning fine. I love the satin finish, natural grain look, and the construction seems great.

I find basic chording isn't too difficult, but my right hand is a mess. I've never been a good strummer, and using my index finger feels strange and wonky. That's going to be the tough part for me. But, it was still a blast to play right out of the box.

Here are some quick pictures I took this morning.

5422949340_664d3ef78b.jpg

5422343347_1cf8fe41fa.jpg

5422949420_293bc41b6b.jpg

-Todd

Quite lovely. Nicely done!

Very nice, you are really going to like your new KoAloha.

Very nice first uke :)

That's a great choice for a first uke! It's easily good enough to be your last uke. Except, of course, there are concert ukes and tenor ukes and longneck ukes and pinapple ukes (in soprano and concert) and banjo ukes and... LOL

Seriously, enjoy that puppy and welcome to the forum. BTW, your guitars are likely to get lonely, now...

John

Well done, hottoddy. A great choice for your first uke. Beautiful grain on that one.

This was also my first uke! Don't be dumb and sell it like I did... unless it's to get the standard glossier version. I did that too, and then was dumber and sold it. :(

The strum that works for me, and I don't see anyone else doing it so I guess I'm very very very wrong, is thumb down and forefinger up. Maybe it'll work for you even if no one else is doing it. :)

I play my KoAloha soprano (pineapple) with a guitar pick. I prefer thin picks. They really bring out what's so great about a KoAloha - clarity & projection.

That's a real beauty you've got there. Enjoy it!