Saxophone & Uke help needed

joelele

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm new to ukulele.

If I play ukulele along with a saxophonist.
Say for example, I strum a C chord in standard tuning would a saxophonist hold their standard C note and they would layer well together!?

I'm used to playing guitar with piano and they play together fine. I hope I'm making sense.

Would the C chord of a ukulele work well with a C chord of a guitar!?

Best wishes.

Joel

A c chord is a c chord - so guitar and uke play fine together. As long as you are playing the same (or complimentary) chords there is no problem.

The saxophone might be a different story. Most woodwinds, brass, and so on are what are called "transposing" instruments. I.e. the music is written one way but what is played may be a different key. I.e. a "C" position on an alto (I think) saxophone is actually Eb. So if you tell a sax player to "play your C" you might get an Eb note out of him!

John

BTW, I actually tried to learn tenor sax, once. The best I succeeded in doing was making very loud noises that sounded amazingly like flatulent elephants. After an intervention by my family, I gave the sax to a young man who actually could make music on it! :)

John

I thought the same, thank you for that and thank you for the thought of flatulant elephants :)

The sax seems to work really well with the Ukulele.
I havnt had so much fun with an instrument before, the ukulele is a forgiving instrument too.

Really love it, I'm going to call my ukulele Lukulele!

What size sax? Alto is Eb as far as I remember, and Tenor is Bb. I guess if it was a bari or a soprano you would have said.

Instruments in the key of Eb transpose a minor third (or three half steps, on the line or space below the note being played by the instrument in C) _below_ the note.

So a C on a uke is not an Eb on an alto sax. It's an A.