Habits

Imaginary

Reaction score
Hey there folks,

I'd like to take a little while to talk about good habits and bad habits for playing the ukulele. As I'm very new to music in general and I've most certainly never played a stringed instrument, I'd like to ask what you think are the best habits and worst habits for a beginner who is self-learning the ukulele with no prior experience. I'm well aware that muscle memory can work wonders when using proper technique and that it can be a curse if you learn something incorrectly and you're forced to relearn it after hundreds of hours of practicing the wrong way. I know that music can be played in a lot of ways, and that there aren't always right or wrong ways to do something but as a very beginner I think focusing on good habits is more important than style. There isn't any stopping style anyways, my music and playing will take on a form of its own soon enough I'm sure.

So, to sum it all up, what are generally accepted good habits to form and what are bad habits to form while playing the ukulele?

For instance, fretting only with finger 1 is an easy-to-make beginner's bad habit, and learning to use all 4 fingers while fretting is a good habit.

I will give my wifes worst habit- do not ever practice when you are tired. She "undoes" so much doing that.
Probably fine to strum a tune you know really well when tired, but don't practice something you are learning.

It can happen at anytime no matter how long you've played, but especially at the beginning, there's going to be a point where your fingertips hurt too much, and or your fingers are tired and maybe your entire hand might cramp, or maybe just the V part of the thumb and index finger. Don't fight it, you're just done. Practice sessions might be shorter at first, but just roll with it. OTOH, accept that every instrument has some level of pain in order to gain. :)