Need help buying tenor acoustic-electric

guitar2adam

Reaction score
I am a serious guitarist, but I have been playing ukulele for about a year (on a crap $10 one) and want to upgrade. I know I want a tenor uke with a pick up. And I am looking in the price range of $300-$600. But I have a few questions I hope some of you could help me out with.

1. Does getting a cut-away diminish the volume and tone of a uke significantly?

2. What kind of pick up is best for a ukulele? I've seen some that come with Dean Markley pick ups, are those a good way to go?

3. I want a uke thats good for finger picking and strumming, so is mahogany the best kind of wood for that?

If anyone can suggest a company or model for me that would be great. I've never bought an instrument before that I haven't played and tested out first, so I'm kind of nervous to buy a uke online, and its hard to tell which sites are good quality and which ones aren't. Thanks alot.
-Adam

I don't have any personal experience with the questions you are aksing, but I would highly recommend musicguynic in Hawaii. His real name is Michael. Here is a link to his e-bay store. http://stores.ebay.com/Musicguymics-Room

You can also call him at 757-777-7873. He can answer your questions and get you going in the right direction.

Hi, Adam, I can give you my experience on your questions from my experience owning a Lanikai S-TEQ cut-away tenor with electric pickup. I'm still new to understanding ukulele logistics so my apologies if any of this ends up being uninformed, but here's what I think...

1. I haven't noticed any deminished volume due to the cut-away or interior pickup. In fact, with the steel C string, the instrument sounds fuller than my concert ukes.

2. My Lanikai has a Shadow pickup and it works just fine with my Roland Microcube.

3. I don't know anything about woods, but what I have is a spruce top.