Which Strings?

Surfing4ACure

Reaction score
Aloha, everyone. This is a great site. I'm fairly new to the ukulele world... def digging it. Seems that I have read a lot about aquila and worth strings. Right now, all my uke's have aquila strings on them. I was just wondering which strings work best with what kind of wood/uke? I currently own a curly mango, koa and mahogany. But I'd like to know other's besides mine for when I pick up other uke's. Also, which strings work best on acoustic-electric uke's? My Kala mahogany tenor is acoustic-electric. Much appreciated!

Yeah, I know strings are not that expensive but money is a bit limited right now. I didn't know if there was an agreeance amongst uke players as to what strings work best for a certain type of uke or wood? Thanks for the input.

Everybody is quick to spring for Aquilas, mostly because of what they can do for cheaper ukes. But other strings have more depth of tonal qualities from what I've found. look at some higher rated ones and take your pick, they all sound amazing! ^.^

Worths. Browns generally for mahogany, Clears for koa. Browns are considered a bit mellower, clears a little brighter or crisper, and a tiny bit higher tension. They also have "Fats", not much posted about people liking those though.

Southcoast Ukes has strings but though I just got some in have not tried them yet. There are people here who like them. Fremont Blacklines are similar to Worth Browns but a little higher tension. They look great on a lot of ukes because they are really black. Kala reds are not well favored. Ko'olau Golds eh, but they have some new strings out some people like.

Pretty much if you are just starting out you will probably like the Worth Brown mediums. They sound nice and they are comfortable on soft fingertips., and they look good on any uke.

Great info... thank you very much! I've been playing guitar for awhile so, thankfully, I have built up the calluses before coming over to the uke.