Low G Not for me.

Uncle Leroy

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I have been playing the uke for about 4 months now. I came over after 30 years or so on the guitar. At first the hi g string threw me off a bit. But when I play my concert uke I love the original "UKE Sound". Then I bought a Tenor with the low g setup and honestly, I just can't hear the ringing, jangly uke sound I am used to. SO, tonight I put a hi g set on my Pono Tenor and am loving it. Am I missing something without having one of my ukes strung low G?

Both. It depends on what you are playing and strumming/picking. I have two Baris strung high/low and two tenors strung high/low. Sometimes in picking melody lines and fill in notes I like the low G, but also sometimes some songs and some picking just works best with high G. It really is a matter of personal preference and what sounds good to you. Lozark

Yeah I have the same thing. Low G sounds weird to me. It doesn't sound weird when other people play it, but it sounds weird in my hands.

I tend to like High G lately myself and also have been playing mostly sopranos. My Tenor is low G. I guess it just depends. To me the Low G would be best on a baritone lol. I am curious Lozark how do you tune the Baritones?

When I first tuned one of my ukes low G I didn't like it. But I stuck with it and after a while it started to grow on me, especially when I found some low G strings I really liked (Worth LGCHHD). Now 1/3 of my ukes are tuned low G and I probably reach for a low G 75% of the time.

To me the uke sound is with the reentrant tuning. While I understand why some like low G, to my ears it makes it sound more like a guitar, especially on the larger ukes. It loses the unique quality of those tight chords.