The Compiled Strumming Guide. (suggestions)

AhrimRaziel

Reaction score
Ok, guys. I've been digging with a shovel to find just about all I can find, and I really want to contribute to this website, and considering the fact that I'm a beginner, I'm in desperate need of some help. I've barely been playing the uke for a week, but I've figured out a small bit in the way of strumming and chunking, and I'm on my way to doing a fluid 4-finger roll, but I'm not concerned with any of that yet.
I've searched for many strumming techniques on the forums, and I did find a few, but nowhere near the amount that I know to exist.
So, enough about me, and what I need you guys for. I need every strum that can possibly be found. Variation of strums can be included. Tremellos, rolls, triplet strums, anything and everything. And when I can organize all this info and get it into a PDF format, it will be released to UkuleleUnderground, and general public, so everyone can benefit from our knowledge.
I'd also like to know if this is a good idea, and if it could in fact, be a benifit to every uke player that reads it.

Triple strum
Split strum
Pluck strum
Clawhammer
Thumb strumb
Index finger strum
Rasgeado
Tremolo
Tremolo with accents
Flick strum (Matt Dahlberg's term for it)
Up strum (ska style)
Waltz strum (Ernest Ka'ai defines all sorts of strums in his early treatises)
Rolls (4-5-8-10 finger varieties)

Err... a little help?

Last edited:
Triple strum
Split strum
Pluck strum
Clawhammer
Thumb strumb
Index finger strum
Rasgeado
Tremolo
Tremolo with accents
Flick strum (Matt Dahlberg's term for it)
Up strum (ska style)
Waltz strum (Ernest Ka'ai defines all sorts of strums in his early treatises)
Rolls (4-5-8-10 finger varieties)

Err... a little help?

Excelent, this is exactly what I'm looking for. Thanks.

One of these days, if I ever find time to really try to play again, I'm going to have to look into Ernest Ka'ai. I can offer one other suggestion: