Left handed troubles.

Colele

Reaction score
I seem to have stumbled upon some problems. I am a left handed musician who plays the ukulele left handed, but on a right handed ukulele. I am a decent player, but I've come to some trouble and I have found it almost impossible to finger some chords (due to the fact that it is upside down). Now that I've gotten so use to it I do not want to start over and play a left handed ukulele. If there is anyone else out there who plays like I do and has gotten past this rut I would like to hear it.

P.S. The whole (just play right handed!) suggestion is kinda out of the picture because I have been playing guitar left handed for 7 years and it would just feel silly playing a ukulele right handed.

Tack för din tid! Ha en bra dag.

play left handed ukulele.
i don't wish to be unsympathetic but it is the only viable answer. I say this as a left handed player. i also can play right handed, in fact of my 6 ukes i keep 2 as right handed. but when you are attempting those 4 fingered chords up the neck there really is no other way than 'natural' also you are limiting yourself with things like electric and electric acoustic ukes cos you will wither foul the tone and volume knobs or you will have the EQ on the wrong side of the body. if you have played leftie guitar for so long you will not have any trouble at all adjusting to leftie uke so there is nothing to relearn that wont take a pleasurable afternoon or two.

Last edited:
It's definitely not an ideal solution but you could try transposing the songs to different keys to see if they eliminate the chords you can't finger. I did that quite a bit when I first started when I had troubles playing certain chords.