Learning Curve

albee

Reaction score
I'm new to all this ..... Has anyone tried BeatNik's "Speak Ukulele Course" ? Would it be a good place to start the learning curve? If not .. where is a good place to start?

My favorite is with Uncle Rod's Boot Camp. It is a free resource and widely used by UU'ers.
It focuses on learning chords and progressions instead of songs.
Once you can play a few chords and transition between them it is a fairly easy task to learn a song.
Start with a few two chord songs, then start climbing the ladder.

+1 on Uncle Rod Boot Camp.

Also when you practice the sheets, try to do chords by putting all fingers down at once to build up muscle memory. I used to go finger by finger and that was a very bad habit. Slowed down my progressions drastically. If you struggle with 2-3 chords, focus on those. Repetition is key to build up muscle memory.

When learning your first song, write the chords progression similar to the bootcamp sheets, practice the progressions on their own until you can almost do it without looking. While you do that, practice the strum for the song without worrying about lyrics and just focusing on maintaining the tempo during chord changes. I saw a post from Uncle Rod about this process to learn new songs and it works really well when you are still a beginner (which I totally am).

This is the stuff I wish I knew when I first started.

Hope this helps!

Aloha Albee,
Welcome to the UU and our forums and the ukulele...I like Uncle Rods too...and also google Mucisteacher2010 and Keonepax for awesome video ukulele tutorials and Dr Uke for songs, chords and instructions..
Have fun and enjoy...Happy Strummings...MM Stan Good Luck!!

+1 on URBC and I also find Absolute Beginners for Ukulele helpful.
51J4DFtXB9L._SL500_AA300_.jpg

Another one for Uncle Rod's Boot Camp...got me started!

Thanks for all the warm fuzzies, UUers!

Uncle Rod Here.

The links to the Boot Camp and a FREE Songbook are below my signature.