Wonderful Experience

mendel

Reaction score
As a high school teacher, I see many students throughout the day. Several of them are physically disabled. Yesterday afternoon, I spoke to one of these disabled students. He is wheelchair bound, has difficulty speaking and has very little control of his motor functions in either hand. As a Psychology teacher, I am asked a lot of questions by kids that are interested in finding out about themselves. This particular student asked me a lot about music. I explained that if he is really passionate about it, he should learn music theory. He became agitated and held his hands up in front of his face. He said "I CAN'T!!!". I smiled and I said that the Ukulele taught me some interesting things, but none was more important than the fact that music is awesome because you play for you. It does not matter what other people think about your playing. Well, he was very emotional. I took out my Uke, and put the strap around his neck and I let him strum for a while. He cried tears of joy the whole time. It was an incredibly emotional experience for me to be able to bring that kind of happiness and joy to another person. I wanted to share yesterday, but I had to get home and do some daddy duty. I am now in the process of trying to find a Makala Dolphin that someone was willing to donate. It would be nice to know that this student could have that type of enjoyment on a regular basis. Thanks for reading!!!

As a fellow educator myself, I am always willing to share the love of music to my students. I introduced the ukulele to a student who passed my GATE class everyday while on his way to the Resource Room. He heard me playing Europa and stuck his head in my doorway and listened for the entire song. He has since joined the school's Ukulele Club and has stayed out of the Principal's office! Thought I'd share that with you.