strumming

serg

Reaction score
I am completely new to the world of 'ukulele, I have very little musical background and I loved the way this intrument sounds so i want to give my all to learn it. One thing i seem to not be able to get right is strumming, I dont want to use a pick but when i try to practice with my index finger or thumb i end up getting tangled up. any tricks anyone might know? thanks!!!

Check out some of the videos on the main page by Aldrine - i.e. Uke Minutes. He has some great lessons for beginners including strumming.

Yulp, look at others and figure out what you like best. Personally, I use my index and thumb, holding them kind of like I would if I were holding a pick. Index nail hits the downstrokes, thumb nail hits the upstrokes.

Hi,

I'm a complete beginner too, and started from zero with my first uke about six weeks ago.
When I first tried to strum with my pointer finger I always got caught between the strings.
I read somewhere that the reason for it might be, that I strummed too hard, and tried strumming without any chords (just put your "chord-hand" over the strings to mute them) and then first started to slightly just go over the strings very lightly - and then itensify the "touch" till you hit all four strings in the intensity you wish evenly...
Then try if you can strum with chords now....

Hope this can help you - for me it worked just perfectly

Have fun,
B_L

This is one of those marmite questions (for non UK readers - love it or hate it).

I personally take the view that unless you are dead set on creating a totally traditional LOOK, then you should settle on a style that suits you. I personally dont like a pick, but would not argue totally against them.

As for strum style - experiment.