Transposing-a little help understanding please.

chappyware

Reaction score
I'm new to Uke and have no musical training. I do play some lapsteel and I know if a song is in F and I want to play it in G, I just slide up 2 frets and play the same pattern.

However, I'm a bit confused about Ukulele. I suppose if a song is in F you could Barre 2 frets up and play whatever the pattern is but dropping back to c seems tough like playing up 7 frets where you're pretty darn high up there.

take this example an maybe someone could plain how to play it it G and in C. It's in F from a tabbed version of St Louis Blues

an example

0--3--0--
1---------1
0---------3
2---------2

I recognize a F chord and an F7 so I could play a G and G7 or for C, C and C7 but what do I do with the notes in between?????? I see they fit in the G or C major scale so do you leave them alone? Do the have to be shifted up or down like the chords.

Sorry if I'm dense, and I appreciate whatever you can tell me.

A scale has eight notes (you could call them "do, re, mi ...." or just number them 1 through 8. The first and eighth notes represent the key (so the key of C begins with the note "C"). There's also a pattern of steps and half steps, as you could see by looking at the white and black keys on a piano. All steps from one note to the next are whole steps, except the step from note III to note IV (in the key of C, F is one-half step up from E) and from note VII to VIII (or I) is one half step (in the key of C, C is one-half step up from B). On an ukulele, each fret is one-half step, so on an ukulele in C tuning, D is two frets up from C, while F is only one fret up from E.

With this information, you can make a chart, like this one I found online (The use of sharps and flats adjusts for taking full steps and half steps where appropriate)

attachment.php