PDA

View Full Version : Uke theory for Noobs question

stuart
02-22-2011, 12:40 AM
I am new to all this music theory stuff and I followed NukeDOCs lesson with interest. But in lesson 4b we are told that the scale is in the key of G. I am confused, wouldn't G use the notes G thru G and not C thru C (isn't that the notes in the key of C). Please point me in the correct direction

Raygf
02-22-2011, 02:35 AM
Without a G below C on a reentrant tuned ukulele. C to C with an F# are all notes in the key of G. If you want to get a stronger sound of G (Using the notes listed in lesson 4b) you could start on the 2nd string/3rd fret G and play down to C and back up to first string/3rd fret C and then back down to the G where you started. Do, Ti, La, So, Fa, So, La, Ti, Do, Re, Me, Fa, Mi, Re, Do. (Or if scale numbers help, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8(1), 2, 3, 4, 3, 2, 1(8)) Note names G, F#, E, D, C, D, E, F#, G, A, B, C, B, A, G.

If you have a ukulele with a low G string you can play a complete G scale in open position. Hope this helps.
Regards,
Ray

Ukulele JJ
02-22-2011, 03:34 AM
But in lesson 4b we are told that the scale is in the key of G. I am confused, wouldn't G use the notes G thru G and not C thru C (isn't that the notes in the key of C).

You're right that a "normal" G scale would run from G to G.

But, in his defense, NukeDOC didn't say you were playing a "G major scale". He said you were "playing a scale in the key of G". :-)

In other words, you are playing a series of notes, and those notes all come from the key of G. Just because you didn't start on G, that doesn't mean you're not in the key of G.

Remember: A "key" is merely a specific collection of notes. If you play a melody using those notes, or make chords that are all formed from those notes, you are said to be playing in that key. In this case, you're playing a bunch of notes in a series. You're using the "key of G collection of notes", so you're in G.