PDA

View Full Version : Why is my uke out of tune?

kbrough
02-22-2011, 03:23 AM
Hi there!
I'm fairly new to the ukulele. I am playing an Oscar Schmidt OU-13 Concert uke and I cannot get the thing to stay in tune. I always use an electric tuner and it always reads that all of the strings are spot on in tune. But when I play chords, they sound grossly out of tune. (For example, when I play a G chord, the E string is significantly sharper than the G string). I'm using whatever strings came on the ukulele, which probably aren't the best quality, but is this even a string issue or do I need a new uke?

Thanks,
Kylie

Ambient Doughnut
02-22-2011, 03:36 AM
I thought there was something wrong with my uke when I first started. There are a couple of things to consider - first the strings are probably still settling in, they take a bit of time and playing before they sound right. Also - no offence - your technique may not be that good yet. You need a fairly light touch to play compared to guitar for instance and it's quite easy to push a string sharp. I would suggest bearing with it a while and ideally having someone experienced have a look at it before you go changing things. It may be that it could do with a little adjustment but I wouldn't rush into it straight away.

HTH :)

mm stan
02-22-2011, 04:37 AM
Aloha Kylie,
Welcome to the UU and the forums and the ukulele...I have found my Oscar Schmidt a wonderful uke but they sound better a step down for me..How long have you had your ukulele? if it's a week or so, the
strings are probally new and are streching as mentioned..that's why they go out of tune...soon they will stabilize and hold their tune, just keep retuning them until they hold their tune......better strings does help make your uke sound better, but you may be new at playing and may not notice..Good Luck and Happy Strummings....let us know how it works out for you...MM Stan

ukulelecowboy
02-22-2011, 04:45 AM
Hi Kylie,