UAS- why??

mendel

Reaction score
As a UU member, I read a lot about UAS. I am curious though. I don't know of any other I strument that people choose to collect like the Uke. Guitarists may have 2 or 3 guitars, but a horn player has his horn. With Uke players, it seems like we are content to play at level that is lower than the caliber o instrument we own and own a multitude of instruments.

I'm not in any way judging- I really want to understand. I've been playing for about 5 months and I have one Uke. I can feel myself outgrowing it as I get better because mine is an entry level Lanikai. I am having Bradford build me a Uke. I'm hoping to fall in love with it as soon as I hold it. If all goes according to plan, then why would I want another one???

I get the urge to buy Ukes, but I don't feel like I deserve it if I am not at a level o ability commensurate with the instrument. For example, I'm sure I will spen years becoming worthy of my Bradford Custom.... What do you guys think??? Why do some people collect the Uke!?!?

Last edited:
I think that one reason is that ukes are so cheap (compared to guitars, saxophones, horns, etc). Some think if they just get that new uke it will make them better players. Some just enjoy looking at the beauty of a well made instrument. Others are just born collectors, like people that collect stamps. I have so many because it took me a long time to discover what size and type I really wanted - I am still not there yet.

One reason is definitely the price. A high-quality french horn, oboe, bassoon, tuba, violin, cello, etc will set you back significantly more than a high-quality ukulele. Jake's uke at $5,500 is about the top range of ukuleles. For a decent oboe, that's the starting price. And I know that my high school band teacher had a $35,000 professional grade bassoon. So it scales up.