Newbie Question: Grip

upskydowncloud

Reaction score
Hey,

I'm having a bit of an issue with my grip of my soprana ukulele. I've been holding it as instructed in the various books I've got but still have problems when making chord changes and find the uke jumps away from me by an inch or so sometimes.

For example if I change from an Am to an Em I find the neck of the Uke jumps away from me and I can't change chords smoothly. It's fine if I'm doing a basic strum but if I'm using the pinky mute method and jazzing up the strum a bit the thing gets uncontrollable and makes a delay between chord changes. Is this just something that comes from practice or am I making a fundamental error with my grip?

Thanks in advance,

John

I had the exact same problem when I started playing like 4 months ago, especially when going from Am to Em. Don't sweat it, practice makes it all better. Soon you will have no problems in that department.

These problems can partly be helped by cradling the uke body in your right arm a bit, and making sure that you strum where the neck meets the body. If you try to strum over the sound hole, a)that's not ideal soundwise and b)you will have a hard time to control the instrument with your grip.
I recently found out I can clasp a soprano between my, let's say, "upper ribs" and my right "chest", but it would be a better idea to experiment with cradling the body with your arm. Not to mention the grossed-out looks you get when you have a mini-guitar sticking from your b**b...

But seriously, taking care to have your thumb assist the neck at all times will help stabilize the uke as well. Check how others do it on video sites, I am still trying to figure out how that skinny Jake S. can hold a tenor and do all that magic without a strap.