PDA

View Full Version : To look or not to look?

olivah
02-25-2011, 11:57 PM
Hello everyone.
I'm still a beginner and was wondering, is it better when practicing to look at your fingers or try not to?

Olivah

Hippie Dribble
02-26-2011, 12:36 AM
hi Olivah

keep looking until they start to go where they're meant to automatically. They call it 'muscle memory' and after you've been practicing awhile your fingers will automatically shape the formations and move into position almost instinctively. But as you're just starting out, give yourself a break and watch them initially mate... :)

olivah
02-26-2011, 01:04 AM
thank you Eugene!

PhilUSAFRet
02-26-2011, 03:03 AM
I agree with Eugene. I've had a uke for 60 years and am just starting to get serious. I had to "start over" and am going through the same thing you are. I can see the "muscle memory" growing each day, slowly, but daily. Just keep on playing....and if you haven't discovered Uncle Rod's Ukulele Boot Camp, suggest you start with those exercises. Better approach for me at least than my uke books.

olivah
02-26-2011, 03:06 AM
thank you Phil.
"Boot camp" sounds a bit military?

bazmaz
02-26-2011, 05:12 AM
I am a big believer that when you are learning, you need all the help you can get. Looking at finger placement when starting is not unusual, and if it helps you then do it. You will eventually just "get it" and be able to change eyes closed

Lola
02-26-2011, 06:32 AM
It's probably better to keep looking for now until your brain gets the motions down completely, but deliberately not looking every once in a while to challenge yourself could be a good exercise, too.

Uncle Rod Higuchi
02-26-2011, 06:35 AM
Agreed, looking at what your fingers need to be doing is mandatory at the beginning. Otherwise progress will be hampered and take too long.