Baritone uke thoughts requested!

Teresa Young

Reaction score
Greetings, uke-impassioned people!

Mike at Mainland Ukes referred me here, thinking some of you may have insights for me. I have a new baby: a beautiful cedar and rosewood baritone that arrived from him last week. (I'm a pianist and vocalist who returned to the bari a few months ago. It was my first instrument at 4 years old before guitar and then piano, and I'm thrilled to be re-discovering it.)

My questions relate to the baritone's resonant properties and its unique "place" within the uke family, which I consider part of the larger guitar family. I told Mike I'm just not sure these great Aquila nylgut strings are actually "it" for me, because I keep imagining the instrument's resonant properties with some good steel strings on it. It does seem that the baritone is a bit of a "hybrid" in the family, and I'm wondering about anyone's thoughts on this and whether you have experimented with steel strings on a bari. I'll have the chance to get this little instrument heard in some intriguing settings, and I want to discover and develop its resonance to its full potential.

Thanks VERY much for your thoughts...

I prefer the nylon strings, just because it has that classic ukulele feel and sound. You could get a set of strings that has one or two wound string I think, if you would prefer that. I'm sure that other membes have a better insight on the steel :)

Last edited:
I'm a long time guitar player who started with ukulele at 4 or 5 and came back to ukulele about ten years ago. I've totally fallen in love with nylon. Just got my first baritone recently and love it. I'd go with nylon for your baritone. I'm not really sure there is a steel string set for baritone. The bracing is so different; it would be like putting nylon strings on a steel string guitar (doesn't really work!).

I'm using Savarez strings from a classical set on my baritone. I enjoy the sound.