How do I not know Fm by now?

joeybug

Reaction score
I've been playing for just over six months and I just came across Fm, it's not a hard chord, just means I need to practise more and get my fingers used to a new shape. It's my latest Challenge over at my blog, but I'm wondering, how could I play for six months and not know Fm...or for that matter, be able to skip learning E that well?! Bb I'm pretty sold on because of learning the Molokai Slide (thanks Stan!) and since then, other songs, oh well, time to write some muscle memory!

Anyone doing anything for World Book Day, Miss D went to school dressed up as the elephant in The Enormous Crocodile by Roald Dahl, she loved it!

Joey

Fm was actually one of the first chords I ever learned because the first song I tried to learn, Pearl Jam's Soon Forget, had this chord (I played it 1013). I had a hard time transitioning in and out of this chord for a long time. It might have been after a year or so of playing before this chord became easy for me. Not sure why. I think I actually had an easier time with B and E chord shapes than this one for some odd reason.

I do not see Fm too often but we have been working on "Hey There Delilah" and that has F#m.

Just saw your blog. Very nice! I'll check it more often. :D
Cheers,
Skottoman

I often substitute Fm6 (1213) for Fm, or even Cdim at times.

I feel like I see Fm most often on old 1920s-30s tunes. It's a great chord. :)

That's an easy question. The answer is that nobody plays songs in the key of G#, so you rarely need it. Sometimes I play Em as a barre chord. If I ever need an Fm, I'd just move that chord shape up one fret.

Cool blog, BTW.

Thanks for the info, I guess at some point it'll be weird to not know most of the chords except the really obscure ones, just struck me as odd that I know F and F#m but never did Fm!

Fm on a gcea uke is one of my favourite chords.
I call it the 'dreamy chord' :)