George Harrison's UAS

pdxuke

Reaction score
That brought a bit of a tear to my eye, always loved George.

Great read. George was my favorite Beatle. T'was sad when he passed away back in 2001.

And a BiG Mahalo for another great issue with lots of wonderful articles and reviews, from newcomer Sarah Maisel to the Mainland bari uke review, the Flip camera review to the Oscar Schmidt ad (one sweet looking cutaway uke) with Willie K, and of course the article on George. Good job! :)

Oh yeah, I remember hearing stories about Harrison buying numerous ukuleles - all in a single visit - at a music store on Maui.

Last edited:
That was a great article. George was my favorite Beatle (most of the time anyway... you know how those things are... depends on my mood), and the chief reason I started playing ukulele. I bought my first (really lousy) ukulele after I heard his last album, "Brainwashed". I knew he loved uke, but I didn't know he loved it THAT much! How cool would it have been to be at a George Formby Society meeting and have George Harrison show up and hang out and play?

Hi everyone. I'm the author of the George Harrison article and just wanted to say that I'm very gratified that you enjoyed it.
yes. thank you sir for writing it. i know he had a gold-plated dallas banjolele, amongst others.

Such an awesome article! The Beatles are the best, and to find out that George had UAS almost makes me want more XD

Thank you. I'm working on a Lyle Ritz article/interview that I am very excited about. I may even get to go Lyle's house and chat with him for it. It will focus in particular on his work in the Fifties.

I also have an article on May Singhi Breen in the works. I am in contact with her grandson, who will have some fascinating tidbits to pass along about the Ukulele Lady.

Great to hear! Good for you! Looking forward to them!