PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Recently bought Kala Ka-T Saddle broke :(

freakinkhang
03-06-2011, 10:32 AM
Hey everyone, I bought my first ukulele a Kala Ka-T at Long & McQuade in Toronto 2 days ago. I started playing it today and the bridge broke right off the uke. I was playing it normally, and it seemed as though the glue was just not strong enough to hold it in place. To make things worse, I don't remember receiving a receipt for the transaction but I do know the transaction number because my friend bought a uke as well right before me. Not sure what I should do... does anyone know if it would most likely be covered under warranty from the store ?

SweetWaterBlue
03-06-2011, 10:47 AM
I would definitely contact the store. It is the bridge that came off by the way - not the saddle. The glue joint obviously failed. Assuming you did not do anything to cause the damage (like way over tightening the strings, or putting steel strings on it etc. ) I would think the store will cover it and probably just give you another one. Let us know how it works out for you.

If worse comes to worse, the fix isn't that bad. After masking off the area, a luthier would scrape off the old glue and simply glue it back on and clamp it overnight.

freakinkhang
03-06-2011, 10:49 AM
Woops, sorry I'll change that. I'm just going straight to the store tomorrow and see what they can do. Unfortunately they're closed on Sundays.

ksiegel
03-06-2011, 11:03 AM
That should be covered under warranty. If you only bought it two days ago, go back to the store immediately. You may not have a receipt, but THEY should have that information. If you can't get there today or Monday, CALL. Explain what happened. Tell them EXACTLY when you can get there.