PDA

View Full Version : Info about this Uke?

gunslinger
03-09-2011, 12:44 PM
Hi all,
I am new to the uke world, only been playing about a month.
I have been playing guitar 30+ years and in bands solidly for the last 20 odd.
At my local guitar shop about 3 weeks ago, I bought a Mahalo UY50 and became instantly addicted, within a week I bought a Kala KA-KTE-C.
The range we can get in Australia is quite limited but I really like the Kala.
When I took it to one of our gigs, our bass player said I could have the one that belonged to his dad.
It is a Kumalae, he says it has to be at least 50 years old, (band-aids and all lol)
There are pics at http://www.flickr.com/photos/58558750@N04/.
If you've got the time to have a look, any info would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
James.

PhilUSAFRet
03-09-2011, 01:14 PM
Wow, get thee to a ukulele Luthier (as opposed to a guitar luthier)......you got a vintage treasure. I'm sure there are several members here that can give you an idea of it's value/
Wow, what a gift... I wish I had a friend like that. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PS: When you get it fixed...get a case with a humidifier in it.

janeray1940
03-09-2011, 01:15 PM
I think it's probably 1920s or so. Definitely a little treasure!

Hippie Dribble
03-09-2011, 01:27 PM
that's worth very good dollars gunslinger. Much older than 50 years I reckon. That looks like a 20's or 30's model and they sell from anywhere between 500- 1000+ dollars. Get an expert luthier to overhaul it for you and repair the split on the right lower bout and happy days are here again! :)

mm stan
03-09-2011, 01:59 PM
Aloha gunslinger,
You are a lucky guy....believe me....it is in really good condition...just the big crack on the side..I'd have it repaired to stabilize it, from further damage..take it to a good luthier...because