PDA

View Full Version : String Problems

FlakMonkey
03-12-2011, 01:45 AM
I just bought some D'addarios from eBay. They arrived today as advertised, but I had a look at the packet and the individual packets that the strings come in and it looks like the strings are B F# D A instead of the standard G C E A strings that I was expecting.

Was I right to assume that they would be G C E A just because they were advertised as Ukulele Strings, and the seller should have advertised the fact that they are meant to be tuned differently?

Or are all D'addario strings tuned this way?

Does it even matter at all that they are tuned this way?

I have no musical background whatsoever, so any advice on this would be greatly appreciated, as I need to no soon whether I'm eligible for a refund or not.

hmgberg
03-12-2011, 02:29 AM
From what I can tell, D'addario soprano strings are for D tuning (B, F#, D, A). This was a preferred tuning for sopranos during the vaudeville era. A lot of people still prefer it. This tuning is just one step up from C tuning. So, as long as you're not playing with other people who have tuned differently, you can just tune the ukulele to D, and play it as if it were in C. You can tune the strings to C, but it is likely that they will be a little loose and not sound as bright and loud as they would tuned to D.

FlakMonkey
03-12-2011, 02:32 AM
Thanks for the help. I think I might string them on my cheapest uke just to test them, and if I don't like them I'll try and return them.

roxhum
03-12-2011, 05:07 AM
I found it so overwhelming when I went to order strings. Everyone talked about Worths and Martins and .... Then I got to the websites and found different tunings and different tensions and .... Eeegads! I bought strings to test out the low g and they don't fit so if I want to use them I have to alter my uke. Let us know how yours work out.

OldePhart
03-12-2011, 06:25 AM